First Father’s Day

Sunday was W’s first father’s day! Since we are on a tight budget, I decided that it would be fun to make him a present that documented this moment in time. I posed X (and several other babies) with letters that spelled “DAD” and then customized a photo frame with X’s footprints stamped on it. While X didn’t exactly behave for the shoot (see comical pictures below), W loved them.

I’m not going to get on a soapbox and preach about the importance of dads. I think we all know how vital they are to a child. Yes, they’re underrated. Yes, people still applaud them for doing basic parenting. Yes, yes, yes. So let’s just be grateful for these fantastic men in our kid’s lives. W hasn’t been to the gym in months because he wants to spend every second he’s not work with me and X. He gets up in the night to give X a bottle without complaint. He wears his baby. He is present for his baby. He works tirelessly to create a life for us. Those are all “normal” things but they add up to create an exemplary dad.

I didn’t have  dad in my life for a long time, though I was blessed with several men who stepped up when my mom was single. When she remarried, I gained a father at the age of 11. Having lived on both ends of the spectrum, I have a deep and abiding appreciation for men that are truly dads. Thank you fathers, soon-to-be fathers, wanna-be-fathers, step-in-fathers. Your investments in today’s kids will follow them their entire lives.

 

Leave a Reply

