Breastfeeding Photography

Breastfeeding photography. A deeply personal and intimate bonding experience between mother and child captured on film. If you had asked me six months ago whether I thought I would ever photograph breastfeeding mamas, the answer would have been a big, fat NOPE! However, as some of you may know, I struggled massively with my own breastfeeding relationship with baby X. He had a tongue tie and hypertonic neck muscles that prohibited him from being able to properly feed. As a result, I was in constant pain and he was unable to get the nutrition he needed which resulted in many weeks of stress and misery for both of us.

Thankfully, I was not without resources! The women in my life offered me encouragement and told me stories of their own breastfeeding struggles, my husband supported me in my decision to push onward with breastfeeding and woke up with me during each night feeding, and my doctor helped me get connected with the right professionals. After resolving X’s tongue tie and getting him months of PT and Craniosacral Therapy, we now have a wonderful breastfeeding relationship! He’s five months old and we’re still going strong!

Breastfeeding photos have been the most requested type of session that I’ve done. However, due to the deeply personal nature of these photos, I decided that it wouldn’t be right of me to ask other mamas for permission to post some of their pictures, until I had posted my own. W took these photos of me and X on Mother’s Day and all editing was done by me.

Note: If you would like to schedule a baby feeding session (bottle or breast) no photos will ever be shared publicly without your express permission! I am thankful for the women who have entrusted me with capturing these intimate moments and would never betray that trust. Also, while I am grateful to be able to breastfeed my baby I’m also incredibly thankful to live in a time when formula is available! Supplementing allowed me to heal and to feed my baby when I couldn’t. So no matter whether you breastfeed or bottle feed, go you for feeding that baby!

347-

347-0178

347-0205bw

347-0129

Leave a Reply

